From 1965 on the two papers shared a single classified-advertising operation.
This arrangement stayed in place until the Hearst Corporation took full control of the Chronicle in 2000.
The new building, San Francisco's first skyscraper, was completed in 1889.
Houstron chronicle dating trail dating
Revenue was split equally, which led to a situation widely understood to benefit the Examiner, since the Chronicle, which had a circulation four times larger than its rival, subsidized the afternoon newspaper.
The two newspapers produced a joint Sunday edition, with the Examiner publishing the news sections and the Sunday magazine and the Chronicle responsible for the tabloid entertainment section and the book review.
In 1924, the Chronicle commissioned a new headquarters at 901 Mission Street on the corner of 5th Street in what is now the South of Market (So Ma) neighborhood of San Francisco.
It was designed by Charles Peter Weeks and William Peyton Day in the Gothic Revival architecture style, but most of the Gothic Revival detailing was removed in 1968 when the building was re-clad with stucco.
The sections covered San Francisco, and four different suburban areas.
They each featured a unique columnist, enterprise pieces and local news specific to the community.There was little competition in the Bay Area suburbs and other areas that the newspaper served, but as Knight Ridder purchased most of the East Bay newspapers in 1995, the Chronicle realized it had to step up suburban coverage.The Chronicle launched five zoned sections to appear in the Friday edition of the paper.Under the new owners, the Examiner became a free tabloid, leaving the Chronicle as the only daily broadsheet newspaper in San Francisco.In 1949, the de Young family founded KRON-TV (Channel 4), the Bay Area's third television station.The newspaper added 40 full-time staff positions to work in the suburban bureaus.